List of NCAA Division I men’s basketball champions

The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament is a single-elimination Championship for men’s college basketball teams in the United States.

It determines the champion of Division I, the top level of play at the NCAA, along with the press often describes the winner as the national champion of college basketball. [2][3] The NCAA Tournament has been held yearly since 1939, and its own area grew from eight teams at the start to sixty-five teams from 2001; as of 2011, sixty-eight teams take part in the championship. Teams may gain invitations by winning a conference tournament or receiving an at-large bid from a 10-person committee. The semifinals of the tournament are called the Final Four and so are held in a different city each year, along with the championship match; Indianapolis, the town where the NCAA is based, will host the Final Four every five years before 2040. Each winning college receives a rectangular, gold-plated trophy made of wood.
The initial NCAA Tournament was coordinated by the National Association of Basketball Coaches. Oregon won the inaugural tournament, beating Ohio State 46–33 from the first championship game. Before the 1941 championship, control of the occasion was provided to the NCAA. From the early years of this championship, it was considered less significant compared to the National Invitation Tournament (NIT), a New York City-based event. ] Teams were able to compete in both events at precisely the same year, and three of these who did so–Utah at 1944, Kentucky in 1949, and City College of New York (CCNY) in 1950–won the NCAA Championship. The 1949–50 CCNY team won both championships (defeating Bradley in both finals), and is the only school basketball team to accomplish this feat. [14] By the mid-1950s, the NCAA Championship became the more prestigious of both occasions, and in 1971 the NCAA barred universities from playing in other tournaments, like the NIT, if they had been invited to the NCAA Tournament. The 2013 championship obtained by Louisville was the very first men’s basketball national title to ever be vacated by the NCAA after the school and its trainer at the time, Rick Pitino, were implicated in a 2015 sex scandal involving recruits.
The University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) has been the most prosperous college from the NCAA Tournament, winning 11 national titles. Ten of those championships came during a 12-year stretch from 1964 to 1975. UCLA also holds the record for the most consecutive championships, winning seven in a row from 1967 to 1973. Kentucky gets the second-most names, with eight. North Carolina is next with six championships, while Duke and Indiana follow with five each. Virginia is the most recent winner, having defeated Texas Tech in the final of the 2019 tournament. One of head coaches, John Wooden is your all-time leader with 10 championships; he also coached UCLA throughout their period of succeeding in the 1960s and 1970s. Duke’s Mike Krzyzewski is second one time with five titles.

Read more: betting site